In the logistics sector, (almost) nothing is possible without burning fuel. But we are aware of our responsibility and have long since relied on innovative drives and state-of-the-art technologies to put the least possible burden on the environment and offer low-noise and low-emission transport solutions, especially in urban areas.

Forward-looking

We were one of the first companies to employ a noteworthy number of natural gas and hybrid vehicles. In the greater Berlin area alone, we will shortly have 43 semi-trailer trucks that are fuelled with liquefied natural gas (LNG), making them very low on emissions. They have a “clean slate” not only on the outside – their inner values are really “clean” as well! The 400-HP engine delivers the same output as a comparable diesel drive, but generates about 70 percent less nitric oxides, 99 percent less soot particles and 15 percent less CO2 emissions. Since the LNG drive also has a significantly lower noise level, the new technology represents a big step towards improved quality of life and climate protection as well as better air quality – especially in urban areas!

 

Biogas as the next step

 

And the next step towards more sustainability is already a done deal: LBG vehicles. The LBG biogas drive has an even better ecological balance than the LNG drive, since the biogas is produced mainly from organic waste without using fossil fuels. Our Swedish subsidiary (www.meyer-logistics.se) has recently put the first few vehicles into service and more are to follow.

Emission-free

We are particularly proud of our e-trucks, the E-ACTROS by Mercedes-Benz and the E-FORCE One! The latter was the very first fully electric 18-tonne truck on German roads! Since 2014, the (high-)tech carrier has been employed in regular operation in Berlin. With a range of about 300 km, it delivers about the same daily output as comparable diesel trucks, but produces virtually zero emissions and consumes only one-third as much fuel (diesel equivalent).

 

SCANIA hybrid semi-trailer being tested

 

Whether the “antlered” semi-trailers will go into production remains to be seen. The hybrid prototypes by SCANIA are currently in test operation. Their batteries are recharged during operation by overhead lines of several kilometres length along the highways, referred to as “e-highways”. After leaving the highway, they travel to the city fully electrically – without any emissions!

 

For a clean environment

 

E-technology in heavy- and medium-duty trucks is still very expensive compared to conventional drives. But time does not stand still, technology is making progress and the political framework will change as well. We are ready! You cannot be too ambitious when it comes to a cleaner environment.

Noch geht in der Logistikbranche (fast) nichts, ohne Treibstoff zu verbrennen. Aber wir sind uns unserer Verantwortung bewusst und setzen nicht erst seit heute auf innovative Antriebe und modernste Technik, um die Umwelt so wenig wie möglich zu belasten und vor allem im Lebensraum „Stadt“ leise und emissionsarm unterwegs zu sein.

Fortschrittlich

Wir waren eines der ersten Unternehmen, das in nennenswerter Stückzahl Erdgas- und Hybridfahrzeuge einsetzte. Demnächst haben wir allein im Großraum Berlin 43 Flüssiggas (LNG) angetriebene und damit sehr emissionsarme Sattelzüge im Einsatz. Nicht nur äußerlich präsentieren sie sich dabei mit einer „weißen Weste” – auch die inneren Werte sind echt „sauber”! So hat der 400 PS starke Motor zwar die gleiche Leistung wie ein vergleichbarer Dieselantrieb, produziert dabei aber rund 70 Prozent weniger Stickoxide, 99 Prozent weniger Rußpartikel und 15 Prozent weniger CO2-Emissionen. Da der LNG-Antrieb zudem auch noch deutlich leiser arbeitet, ist die neue Technik ein großer Schritt hin zu mehr Lebensqualität und Klimaschutz sowie besserer Luft – vor allem in Ballungsgebieten!

 

Biogas der nächste Schritt

 

Und der nächste Schritt zu noch mehr Nachhaltigkeit ist schon beschlossene Sache: LBG-Fahrzeuge. Der LBG-Biogas-Antrieb weist eine noch bessere Öko-Bilanz als der LNG-Antrieb aus, da das Biogas vor allem aus Bio-Abfall gewonnen wird und damit kein fossiler Brennstoff ist. Bei unserer schwedischen Tochtergesellschaft (www.meyer-logistics.se) wurden vor kurzem die ersten Einheiten in Betrieb genommen. Weitere werden folgen.

0km

2020: Zurückgelegt mit alternativen Antrieben

0t

2020: Reduktion des CO2-Ausstoßes

Emissionsfrei

Ganz besonders stolz sind wir auch auf unsere E-Lkw, den E-ACTROS von Mercedes Benz und den E-FORCE One! Letzterer war der erste vollelektrisch betriebene 18-Tonner auf Deutschlands Straßen überhaupt! Seit 2014 verrichtet der (Hoch-)Technologieträger in Berlin im Regelbetrieb seinen Dienst. Mit rund 300 km Reichweite erbringt er in etwa die gleiche Tagesleistung wie vergleichbare Diesel-Lkw. Allerdings nahezu emissionsfrei und mit nur einem Drittel des Kraftstoffverbrauchs (Dieseläquivalent).

 

SCANIA Hybrid-Sattelzugmaschine im Test

 

Ob die „Geweih“-Sattelzüge einmal in Serie gehen, wird die Zukunft zeigen. Aktuell sind die Hybrid-Prototypen von SCANIA im Testbetrieb. Ihre Akkus werden auf mehreren kilometerlangen Oberleitungs-Strecken auf den Autobahnen, sogenannten „E-Highways“, im Fahren aufgeladen. Die Fahrt nach dem Verlassen der Autobahn erfolgt dann in die City rein elektrisch – emissionsfrei!

 

Für eine saubere Umwelt

 

Noch ist die E-Technik bei schweren und mittelschweren Lkw sehr teuer im Vergleich zu konventionellen Antrieben. Aber die Zeit steht nicht still, der technische Fortschritt schreitet voran und auch die wirtschaftspolitischen Rahmenbedingungen werden sich ändern. Wir stehen bereit! Für eine sauberere Umwelt kann kein Engagement groß genug sein.